• habisow4

Public and School Holidays in 2021

With the holidays and the new year 2021 ahead, it is already interesting to get those official public and school holiday dates in Belgium on your calendar.

Public Holidays

As many businesses, organisations and shops in Belgium typically close on official public holidays, it is important to note them in your diary. The Belgian law prohibits working during public holidays, although exceptions exist. In such a case, an employee should for example be rewarded a compensation day. When a holiday falls on a Thursday or Tuesday, some companies close on the Friday or Monday to ‘make the bridge’ (de brug maken” in Dutch), so that employees have an extra-long weekend.


New Year’s Day Friday 1 January 2021

Easter Sunday 4 April 2021

Easter Monday Monday 5 April 2021

Labour Day Saturday 1 May 2021

Ascension Day Thursday 13 May 2021

Whit Monday Monday 24 May 2021

Flemish Community Holiday Sunday 11 July 2021

Independence Day Wednesday 21 July 2021

Assumption Day Sunday 15 August 2021

All Saint’s Day Monday 1 November 2021

Armistice Day Thursday 11 November 2021

Christmas Day Saturday 25 December 2021


School Holidays


The school holidays are often a moment of rest in the daily hustle and bustle. Belgian schools typically have five school holidays. They apply to pre-primary, primary and secondary school.


Start date End date

Christmas Holidays Monday 21 December 2020 Sunday 3 January 2021

Spring break Monday 15 February 2021 Sunday 21 February 2021

Easter Holidays Monday 5 April 2021 Sunday 18 April 2021

Summer Holidays Thursday 1 July 2021 Tuesday 31 August 2021

Autumn Holidays Monday 1 November 2021 Sunday 7 November 2021



Last but not least:

The team of Expat Centre Limburg wishes you all a warm holiday season and a healthy New Year full of peace and joy!



Sources:

https://www.wettelijke-feestdagen.be/Schoolvakanties-belgie-2020-2021.aspx

https://www.expatica.com/be/education/children-education/school-holidays-in-belgium-93852/

https://www.expatarrivals.com/europe/belgium/public-holidays-belgium

https://www.expatica.com/be/lifestyle/holidays/belgium-public-holidays-103619/


29 views0 comments